SEMA Prize to Young Researchers

In 1998, SeMA instituted the SeMA young Researcher Award in order to promote excellence in original mathematical work with a strong applied component. Since 2013, this award received the name Antonio Valle Young Researcher Award in recognition of the efforts dedicated by Antonio Valle, first president of SeMA, to the promotion of Young researchers in the field of Applied Mathematics.

The award was established in order to provide recognition to a Young researcher, under the age of 33 and working at a Spanish institution that has demonstrated an independent, creative and highly valued activity in the field of Applied Mathematics as a post-doctoral researcher. The prize intends also to contribute to advance its professional career in Applied Mathematics both at the national and international levels.

The award involves 1500 Euros, a diploma, and two years of honorary membership to SeMA

Call for XXI Prize SeMA “Antonio Valle” to Young Researchers (2018)

Last Award: 2018 · Javier Gómez Serrano
Foto Javier GomezJavier Gómez Serrano winner of the XXI “Antonio Valle” SEMA Prize to Young Researchers
Javier obtained both his degree in Mathematics and Telecommunications Engineering from the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya in 2009 and defended his Ph.D. in Mathematics from the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid in 2013 under the supervision of Prof. Diego Córdoba. From 2013 to 2016 he was an Instructor at Princeton University, and in 2016 he obtained an assistant professor position at the same university.

He is the author of 20 scientific articles published in the most relevant journals in Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, some of them very influential in the international scientific community judging by the number of citations received. He has been an invited speaker at several national and international conferences and has delivered seminars in several European and American universities.

During his undergraduate and predoctoral years he received numerous awards. Here we highlight some of them: gold medal at the Spanish Olympiad of mathematics and chemistry (2003), second prize at the Arquimedes University Competition (2009) and the Vicent Calleses Prize (2017) awarded by the RSME and the BBVA Foundation.

His research deals with the analysis of partial differential equations, and more specifically with fluid dynamics. His most significant contributions are in the 2-dimensional water wave’s problem, where he proved the existence of regular initial data for which the regularity of the interface is broken in finite time. His findings have been published in Ann. Math. (2013) and were announced in Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U S A (2012). Also, in his article published in J. Math. Phys (2012), he proved that the tension in the surface does not prevent the formation of such singularities. His great capacity for analysis and his mastery of numerical calculation, combined with his leadership in the area of computer-assisted testing, have been fundamental in many of the results obtained by this young researcher. As example we highlight '' A note on stability shifting for the Muskat problem II: Stable to Unstable and back to Stable ", Anal. PDE 10 (2017) or the recent "Global smooth solutions for the invisible SQG equation" that will appear in Mem. Amer. Math. Soc. One should also mention the results he obtained in "vortex patches", Splash singularities for the Navier-Stokes equations, global solutions for the "Surface quasi-geostrophic equation" and the change of instabilities for the Muskat problem.

The jury of this award wants to highlight the high level of all the candidates in this call, which is an honour for our scientific society. We have a new generation of young researchers of the highest level in the Applied Mathematics field that will undoubtedly contribute to the development and improvement of Applied Mathematics in our country.

Javier will receive the award during the celebration of the XVIII Spanish-French School Jacques-Louis Lions about Numerical Simulation in Physics and Engineering, which will be held in Las Palmas de Gran Canarias from June 25 to 29, 2018.

Read more

Previous winners